SkandinaWien

a Nordic-Austrian duo-project by

Peter Hudler, cello

and

Andreas Teufel, piano

Cellist Peter Hudler and pianist Andreas Teufel, both based in Vienna/Austria share a deep affection for the Scandinavian countries and their culture. This is why they have put together this programme called „SkandinaWien“ that combines works by Scandinavian and Viennese composers and thereby shows the emotional relationship and artistic connections between these two different worlds.
Franz Schubert’s „Arpeggione Sonate“ and Jean Sibelius’ „Malinconia“ share a deeply melancholic atmosphere. Both works were written on the occasion of the death of a close family member – Schubert’s mother and Sibelius’s daughter Kirsti. Both Schubert’s piece and Edvard Grieg’s Cello Sonata were melodically inspired by simple Folk Tunes. Anyway in both cases the innocent and joyful character these melodies provide can hardly cover the underlying current of morbidity and pain.
Including and working with popular tunes of the time is also a main feature of Johanna Doderer’s piece „Break on Through“ for Cello and Piano. This contemporary Austrian composition was inspired by the famous Rock song of the same name by The Doors.

Programme

Jean Sibelius
Malinconia for cello and piano op.20

Franz Schubert
Sonata for piano and arpeggione, D 821

Allegro moderato
Adagio
Allegretto

Pause

Edvard Grieg
Sonata for cello and piano, a-minor, op.36

Allegro agitato
Andante molto tranquillo

Allegro

Johanna Doderer
break on through
for cello and piano, DWV 95

Contact & Booking

Peter Hudler – T +43 650 7702072 – p.hudler@gmail.com

Photography: Gregor Nesvadba, Otto Reiter (P. Hudler)

SkandinaWien

das nordisch-österreichische Duoprojekt von

Peter Hudler, Violoncello

und

Andreas Teufel, Klavier

Den Cellisten Peter Hudler verbindet mit seinem Duopartner Andreas Teufel am Klavier eine besondere Liebe zu den skandinavischen Ländern des Hohen Nordens. In ihrem gemeinsamen Programm „SkandinaWien“ stellen die beiden Musiker Werke skandinavischer und österreichischer Komponisten einander gegenüber und finden Verbindungen und Gemeinsamkeiten, die die Seelenverwandtschaft der beiden Welten aufzeigen.
Franz Schuberts „Arpeggione Sonate“ und Jean Sibelius’ „Malinconia“ teilen den melancholischen Tonfall, beide sind anlässlich von Todesfällen in der Familie entstanden – Schuberts Mutter, bzw. Sibelius’ Tochter Kirsti. Das Volksmusikhafte hat Schuberts Musik mit Edvard Griegs wenig bekannter Cello-Sonate gemeinsam, fast schon übertrieben heitere Passagen verbergen die morbide Grundstimmung aber nur notdürftig.
Mit Johanna Doderers „Break on Through“ für Violoncello und Klavier steht ein zeitgenössisches österreichisches Werk auf dem Programm, das ebenso die Bezugnahme auf zeitgenössisch Populäres – in diesem Fall ein The-Doors-Popsong – nicht scheut.

Programm

Jean Sibelius
Malinconia, für Violoncello und Klavier, op.20

Franz Schubert
Sonate für Klavier und Arpeggione, D 821

Allegro moderato
Adagio
Allegretto

Pause

Edvard Grieg
Sonate für Klavier und Violoncello, a-moll, op.36

Allegro agitato
Andante molto tranquillo

Allegro

Johanna Doderer
break on through
für Violoncello und Klavier, DWV 95

 

Kontakt & Booking

Peter Hudler – T +43 650 7702072 – p.hudler@gmail.com

Fotos: G. Nesvadba, O. Reiter (Hudler)